Erin Leonard, Penn ’01

My name is Erin Leonard and I had the privilege to play for and coach with Coach Greenberg at UPenn. I often look back on those years and smile because they were some of the best years of my life and coach had a lot to do with my experience. Coach Greenberg was passionate about basketball. She wanted us to achieve greatness on and off the court. She taught us to work hard as a team, to compete with intensity and to have fun while pushing ourselves. She wanted the best for us and knew how to get the best out of us. By demanding greatness she led our team to our first Ivy League Title in school history, a perfect 14-0 Ivy League record and UPenn’s first appearance in the women’s NCAA tournament. Coach Greenberg also cared about us as individuals. She took the time to get to know us and the people that were important to us. Recently I found an old thank you note she sent to my parents thanking them for supporting our team over the prior season. That is the type of person coach Greenberg is- she cares. Coach wears her heart on her sleeve, she demands perfection from each of her players and believes in and encourages them. Coach has supported me throughout my life, whether it be an email to check in, a Christmas card or a letter of recommendation, she is always there to help in any way possible. Coach Greenberg will always be someone I respect and admire.