Joe McGeever

I have known Kelly Greenberg since she was 16 years old when I became one of her high school coaches. In the years since then I have seen her evolve from a motivated young girl to a successful and most caring woman. I was very fortunate to be her assistant coach and work with Kelly for 5 years at the University of Pennsylvania. In those five years, I saw her reach out to so many young women in countless ways. She certainly wanted them to be successful on the basketball court (as any Coach would) but more importantly she wanted them to reach their goals and dreams outside of athletics and be a person who truly cares about others.

I wish I had kept track of how many times players came to Kelly’s office at Penn just for a chat or for personal guidance for any situation, it would fill a book. “Role Model” is a term I don’t use lightly. She has been a “Role Model” for so many women not only at Penn but for the many others she has coached else where that I have met over the years.

Whenever I see a former Penn player they always ask me “How is Coach Greenberg”?

If I had a daughter, I would want her life to be influenced in some way by Kelly Greenberg!