Jill Crandley

When I heard about the ‘bullying’ accusations made against Kelly Greenberg I was shocked, to say the least.

I have never, in my life heard anyone say anything negative about Kelly. I am a former college teammate of Kelly’s and have known her for over 25 years. She is one of the most genuine, unselfish and caring people I know. She treats everyone she meets with respect.

I’ve had the privilege of sitting in on Boston University practices in the past and have seen Coach Greenberg’s interactions with her players. She is intense, as all great coaches are, and gets the most out of every player on the team. She makes the average players good and the good players great. At the same time you can see how much she cares about each one of her players as individuals. She wants them to succeed on the court and in life.

It saddens me to think that the actions of a few players could make national news without providing any real facts about the situation. To think that these few players could tarnish the reputation of a coach that has worked extremely hard over the years to positively influence hundreds of young women, quite frankly, makes me sick. Playing on an extremely competitive Division I college basketball team and attending an academically challenging institution requires an extreme amount of hard work and discipline. Perhaps these few players were not prepared for that challenge.
I truly hope that the powers that be take this (and I am sure other countless testimonies) into consideration when considering Coach Greenberg’s future at Boston University.