Marianne Melbinger

I have known Kelly Greenberg for well over 20 years.  In that time frame, she has been the Associate head coach at Holy Cross, the head coach at the University of Pennsylvania and the head coach at Boston University.  I have seen her coach good teams and bad teams.  Her dedication to her players and to her profession never waivered in either case. As a former Division II college basketball athlete, I know the dedication, sacrifice and humility that comes with being a part of a college program.  Not everyone is cut out to play at that level.  Division I is another step up.  I joined athletics at a young age because I loved sport and I wanted to be better.  I wanted to be a part of something greater than myself.  As I progressed from level to level of playing ability and competition, I realized that there was the greater possibility of no longer being the “big fish in the small pond” to the “smaller fish in the big pond”.  That was the point.  To be a part of something greater than oneself.  I looked for the coaches that would get me there.

Kelly Greenberg is that coach, that human being whose real success is measured not by her record alone but by the people her players become while under her tutelage.  I know her to be unflinchingly honest.  The character displayed by her players is as important to her as their skill.  The greater good of the team has always been placed above the greater good of each member.  She has never sought out recognition for herself and has been embarrassed when praise was given.  I have attended alumni events with Kelly and have met well over 60-70 of her former players who made the effort to come back because of who she is and who she helped them to become.  Lawyers, doctors, professional athletes, coaches, successful business owners and mothers.

On a more personal note, Kelly is my friend.  She is kind, supportive and of great moral character.  Her positive outlook on life is contagious and she makes everyone who has the honor of calling her a friend a better person for it. In 20 plus years, I have never, ever seen her show disrespect to anyone.

I am appalled and ashamed of those who would ruin her reputation and her good name because of their own failings.