Josie Greenberg RN, BSN

Kelly Greenberg is not a bully. That is a fact.

I have known her my entire life. I have watched her coach. I have witnessed her being loved and supported by her players and their families. I have experienced her nurture and guidance first hand.

She is my Aunt Kelly; she’s everyone’s favorite aunt!

Kelly is the type of person who makes you want to be great, like her. She instills a drive in you that makes you want to be the best person you can be, someone you didn’t even know you could be. Kelly has taught me to be respectful, and how to be respected. She cherishes the people in her life, and wants nothing but greatness for them. She genuinely cares. You can tell that within minutes of meeting her! Kelly has a passion for bringing out the best in others unlike any I have seen before.

I am 26 years old, and since I can remember, Aunt Kelly was just simply the best. She makes you feel like you are the most special person in her life. She is kind, and generous, and loving. Never hesitates to have your back in any situation. And, like I mentioned before, she made me want to be great.

I am a basketball player. I have learned from Kelly. Hers was the opinion I would always weigh the most when I was playing. And, whether it was Kelly simply giving me some pointers in the driveway in a pick-up game with cousins, formally coaching me at her camp, or later calling me up after she watched me coach my first game, I listened to what she told me, improved, and I am better for it.

More about her camp. I have attended Kelly’s camp, Kelly Greenberg Basketball Camp, for 10 years as a camper and counselor. Last year, at the age of 25, I made sure I was off from my full time job so that I could be there. That’s how amazing it is. The experience that young girls have over that weekend in June is something that they will love forever. When they leave on Sunday, they cannot wait to come back in a year. They see that “Coach Kelly” is talented, and fun, and corny! They get to stay in a cabin without their parents and hang out with college basketball players (which when you’re an 11 year old CYO star, is the coolest thing ever). These players, from Boston University and other universities over the many years, volunteer their time in the summer to help Kelly hold this camp because they want to be a part of the good that she can do and the excitement about basketball she can create with young girls. I just can’t understand how a player of Kelly’s, who has volunteered at this camp, can then go and accuse her of being a bully. I’m at a loss.

I’m at a loss over all of this.

Kelly Greenberg is a person who loves. Loves her family. Loves basketball. Loves her players. Loves coaching. Loves seeing people in her life succeed.

A bully is defined as “a person who uses strength or power to harm or intimidate those who are weaker”…a tyrant…a tormentor. This…is NOT Kelly Greenberg.

Kelly Greenberg is a daughter, a sister, a friend, an aunt, a coach, a goofball, a comedian, an avid Boggle player, a trivia master, and the list goes on…

Kelly Greenberg is not a bully. That is a fact.

Josephine Greenberg RN, BSN