Claire Gallagher, Penn ’01

In light of the recent allegations surrounding Kelly Greenberg, I just wanted to take a moment to offer my input pertaining to my experience as a player on Kelly’s team at Penn for the 1999 – 2001 seasons.

I found her to genuinely love the game of basketball and take great pride and enjoyment in coaching and teaching players in all facets of the game. She is as passionate as any coach I’ve encountered in all my years of playing and her intensity level was always high. I felt that she valued getting to know us as people, not just athletes. When I had surgery to repair a torn ACL in the post-season, she brought me my favorite ice cream while I was laid up in the hospital. She was a tremendous motivator who took our program from worst to first inside of just two seasons.